Full Picture

Extension usage examples:

Here's how our browser extension sees the article:
Appears moderately imbalanced

Article summary:

1. There are ten distinct pranayama practices in hatha yoga, but the number can be extended to around twenty depending on what is considered pranayama.

2. The building blocks of pranayama include breath retention, yogic energy locks, different types of breath, ratios, sounds, mudras, and mantras.

3. Some commonly known pranayamas include Nadi Shodhana Pranayama, Ujjayi Pranayama, Bhastrika Pranayama, Kapalbhati Pranayama, and Bhramari Pranayama.

Article analysis:

The article provides a comprehensive list of pranayamas and their components, but it is important to note that the author's definition of pranayama may differ from traditional yogic texts. The author includes practices such as deep breathing and spontaneous breath awareness as pranayama, which may not be considered as such in ancient texts. Additionally, some of the practices listed are not widely recognized or named in traditional sources.

The article also promotes certain practices, such as Khechari mudra and Lahiri Mahasaya's kriya yoga, without providing a balanced view of potential risks or drawbacks. The author's personal experiences and opinions are presented without acknowledging alternative perspectives or counterarguments.

Furthermore, the article does not provide sufficient evidence for some claims made, such as the benefits of breath retention on calming the mind and awakening inner life force. It also lacks exploration of potential risks or limitations of certain practices.

Overall, while the article provides a useful overview of pranayamas and their components, readers should approach it with caution and seek additional sources for a more well-rounded understanding.